Posted by: Joe Bavonese, PhD | January 22, 2008

Fears

We therapists help so many people deal with their irrational fears, and yet we get bottled up with so many of our own, while trying to develop a successful practice…

Fear of making a mistake.

Fear of looking stupid.

Fear of wasting money.

Fear of failure.

Fear that all this time and money learning this stuff was a complete waste.

Fear that we’ll never have enough.

Fear that it’s not fair that the flashy marketers get more clients than the excellent clinicians.

Fear of looking like an infomercial.

Fear that there’s nothing else we can really do.


Responses

  1. Hi Joe,

    I think all of these postings are really great. They certainly help therapists, including me, see how we put on “blinders” when it comes to marketing. It is as though we were taught not to be good business people and to not value our services.

    Keep up the good work. I am enjoying reading your postings. – Jeff, Theramatch.com

  2. Thanks Jeff…I think there’s such a conflict between service and success for most healthcare providers, that it really puts a limit on how successful we can be. As an example, I was certainly of the opinion earlier in my career that business people were all selfish and greedy, and yet have found that they have been wonderfully helpful to me in growing my businesses.

    Joe


Leave a comment

Categories